Breckenridge Texan

Clear Fork Bank employees unite to make donation to Breckenridge’s United Fund

Clear Fork Bank employees unite to make donation to Breckenridge’s United Fund
March 20
15:22 2024

By Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

For the ninth consecutive year, Clear Fork Bank of Breckenridge (formerly First National Bank) achieved 100 percent participation in the Breckenridge United Fund’s annual fundraising drive and the bank has matched the employees’ donations.

On Tuesday morning, Kevin Simmons, president of Clear Fork Bank’s Breckenridge location, and the bank’s employees presented a check to Sherry and Les Strickland and Jean Hayworth with United Fund, representing their contributions to the organization’s 2023-24 fundraising campaign. The Clear Fork staff gathered in the lobby of the downtown bank, and the United Fund board members thanked them for their assistance.

United Fund President Sherry Strickland said that, as of this week, the fundraising campaign is at 65 percent of its $16,100 goal for the year.

Since 1957, the United Fund of Breckenridge, Inc., has been helping out the community. Every year, the members collect charitable donations, which are then dispersed to several local organizations. This year, the United Fund will make donations to the following:

  • Break 180
  • Breckenridge Fine Arts Center
  • Cub Scout Girls Troop #72
  • Cub Scout Pack #81
  • Dr. Goodall’s House
  • Friends of Historic Breckenridge
  • Girl Scout Troop #8356
  • Meals on Wheels
  • Stephens County Agriculture & Community Center
  • Stephens County Child Welfare Board
  • Stephens County Humane Society
  • Swenson Memorial Museum

Anyone who would like to donate may mail a check to: United Fund of Breckenridge, Inc., P.O. Box 170, Breckenridge, TX 76424. Or, donations may be made online on the United Fund website.

The United Fund’s board of directors includes: Sherry Strickland, Les Strickland, Jean Hayworth, Bo Asher, Kevin Simmons, Whitney Fulgham, Cassie Griffith, Scott Harris, Lynda Justus, Wayne Justus, Kathy O’Shields, Gary Trammel and Sharon Wimberley.

Clear Fork Bank employees who contributed to the United Fund include Alondra Ortiz, Anna Castro, Anna Easter, Annie Brooks, Brenda Deubler, Carol Mace, Cindy Spencer, Connie Wooten, Jenae Trejo, Jennifer Herrington, Jonathon Newton, Kasey Ragle, Ken Taylor, Kendra Cornett, Kevin Simmons, Laura Davila, Melanie Gonzales, Nayeli Hernandez, Noemi Duran, Renee Funderburg, Sabrina Gilbreath, Sharon Pendleton, Sharron Brown, Sonia Sikes, Terry Parks, Tina Robinson, Wendy Moorhouse and Zak Elkins. (Not everyone is pictured.) (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Cutline, top photo: Clear Fork Bank President Kevin Simmons presents a donation on behalf of the bank’s employees to United Fund board members Sherry Strickland, center; Jean Hayworth, left; and Les Strickland, second from left. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights