Breckenridge Texan

BISD’s Seymore nominated for Superintendent of the Year

BISD’s Seymore nominated for Superintendent of the Year
July 07
09:25 2018

Tim Seymore, Breckenridge Independent School District Superintendent, has been nominated as the Region 14 Education Service Center’s candidate for the Superintendent of the Year award, which is sponsored annually by the Texas Association of School Boards.

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education, according to the TASB. Nominees were submitted to regional selection committees, each of which chose one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

Seymore was hired as the BISD superintendent in November 2014 and officially started to work here after the Christmas break that year. In January of this year, the BISD Board of Trustees voted to extend his contract through 2020.

In February 2018, Seymore was named Breckenridge’s 2017 Citizen of the Year at the annual Chamber of Commerce awards banquet. His award was presented by the previous year’s Citizens of the Year, Elaine and Virgil Moore.

“At times, a person moves into our town and immediately makes a positive impact that warrants recognition; such is the case with this year’s Citizen of the Year,” said Virgil Moore, leading up to the announcement.

“Our winner knows that it takes a village to raise a child, so he has continually fostered connections between businesses and community members with our local school children,” Elaine Moore said at the Chamber awards ceremony. “Whether he’s in his Breckenridge ISD superintendent’s office overseeing our district finances or on a campus shaking hands with one of the students or spending time with his civic organizations, this person is working for the improvement of our community.”

The state Superintendent of the Year committee will interview regional winners in Austin on Aug. 24–25 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced Sept. 28 at the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Austin.

The complete list of nominees for Superintendent of the Year includes:

  • Daniel Treviño Jr., Mercedes ISD, Region 1
  • Max Thompson, Banquete ISD, Region 2
  • Jeanette Winn, Karnes City ISD, Region 3
  • Mark Henry, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Region 4
  • Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD, Region 5
  • Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD, Region 6
  • Susan Morton, Winnsboro ISD, Region 7
  • Michael Lamb, Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8
  • David Vroonland, Mesquite ISD, Region 10
  • Robin Ryan, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, Region 11
  • George Kazanas, Midway ISD—McLennan County, Region 12
  • William Chapman, Jarrell ISD, Region 13
  • Tim Seymore, Breckenridge ISD, Region 14
  • Ross Aschenbeck, Sonora ISD, Region 15
  • Bryan Davis, Dimmitt ISD, Region 16
  • Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD, Region 17
  • Denise Shetter, Kermit ISD, Region 18
  • Juan Martinez, Clint ISD, Region 19
  • Brian Woods, Northside ISD—Bexar County, Region 20

Cutline, top photo: Breckenridge Independent School District Superintendent Tim Seymore addresses the Board of Trustees and others attending a board meeting earlier this year.  (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights