Breckenridge Texan

Seymore honored as Citizen of the Year

Seymore honored as Citizen of the Year
February 09
13:34 2018

Three local citizens and a business were honored Thursday night at the Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce’s annual awards banquet.

After a speech by inspirational speaker Becky Benes and a presentation by Texas State Rep. Mike Lang, last year’s awards winners presented the Ag Citizen of the Year, the Citizen of the Year and the Business of the Year. Additionally, the new Inspiration Award was presented.

The Citizen of the Year award was announced by Elaine and Virgil Moore, the 2016 Citizens of the Year.

“At times, a person moves into our town and immediately makes a positive impact that warrants recognition, such is the case with this year’s Citizen of the Year,” said Virgil Moore, leading up to the announcement.

“Our winner knows that it takes a village to raise a child, so he has continually fostered connections between businesses and community members with our local school children,” Elaine Moore said. “Whether he’s in his Breckenridge ISD superintendent’s office overseeing our district finances or on a campus shaking hands with one of the students or spending time with his civic organizations, this person is working for the improvement of our community.”

Then, the Moores announced Tim Seymore, Superintendent of Breckenridge Independent School District, as the 2017 Citizen of the Year.

Seymore earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Angelo State University. He and his wife, Mandy, have two children, who attend ASU. He has been the BISD superintendent since 2015.

Randy Boaz, right, accepts the 2017 Ag Citizen of the Year award from Mike Fields, last year’s recipient. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Randy Boaz was named the 2017 Ag Citizen of the Year. The 1982 graduate of Breckenridge High School is a local rancher, business owner and inspector with the Texas Animal Health Commission.

Boaz, who earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Animal Science at Texas Tech University, is a former BISD Board of Trustees member. He and his wife, South Elementary teacher Deedra Boaz, have three sons and several grandchildren.

“His love of God and his family has made him a person that people look up to,” said Mike Fields, the 2016 Ag Citizen of the Year. “I’m really proud to present him with this award.”

James Dye, representing R.E. Dye Manufacturing Corp., the 2016 Business of the Year, presented the 2017 award to McDonald’s. David and Carol Whealy took over the fast-food restaurant in 2010.

Debbie Karl, right, receives the inaugural Inspiration Award from LouAnn Karl with the Breckenridge American. Debbie Karl is the executive director of TSTC-Breckenridge Campus. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

“Immediately, these newcomers began to feel like part of the community and put their eyes on the most needed areas by developing a culture within the business focused on providing an outstanding customer experience with a friendly, welcoming and clean environment,” Dye said about the Whealys. “This model, along with hard work, helped them to grow the business by 200 percent within the first year. They dedicated themselves to be a great place to work and to being a strong, positive presence in the community.”

New this year to the awards list is the Inspiration Award, given to an employee of BISD or Texas State Technical College – Breckenridge Campus who is nominated for being a big inspiration or making a direct impact on the lives of people they’ve encountered through their career.

The award was presented to Debbie Karl, executive director of the local TSTC campus, by LouAnn Karl with the Breckenridge American. Debbie Karl is a graduate of Breckenridge High School, Cisco Junior College, McMurry University and the University of Houston.

“She is described as being very passionate about what she does,” LouAnn Karl said. “Her priorities and concerns have always been seeing students succeed and achieve the goals they have set for themselves.”

David Whealy, center, accepts the Business of the Year award from James Dye, second from right, and a certificate from Diane Williams, a representative of U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway. Whealy is the owner of the local McDonald’s restaurant. Accepting the award with him are his wife, Carol, and their son and daughter-in-law Kurtis and Nicole Whealy and their son Angel. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Story by Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

Cutline, top photo: Virgil Moore, from right, and Elaine Moore, 2016 Citizens of the Year, look on as Tim Seymore, BISD Superintendent, speaks to the crowd after being selected for the 2017 honor. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

For more photos from the event, click here to see the Breckenridge Texan’s photo gallery.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights