Breckenridge Texan

Voter registration deadline nears for upcoming election

January 31
05:22 2018

Breckenridge and Stephens County are in the midst of two election seasons, and the last day to register to vote in the first election is Monday, Feb. 5. Additionally, the election process for the city, school board and hospital district board is just getting underway. Click here for more information on that election.

The Primary for November’s general election will take place on March 6. Local offices that will be on the ballot include County Judge, County Commissioners for Precincts 2 and 4, District Clerk, County Treasurer and Justice of the Peace. All of the local candidates are running as Republicans and will be on the Republican Primary ballot. No local Democratic candidates signed up for any of the Stephens County races; the Democratic Primary ballot will have only candidates for state offices.

In the Justice of the Peace race, Dan Young, James Wrenn, Leslie LeBus Blackerby, Phil Devenport and Steve Spoon signed up to run for the position that will be vacated by Michael Roach, who is running unopposed for the County Judge position.

County Judge Gary Fuller announced he will be retiring when his current term ends in 2018. Additionally, Precinct 2 Commissioner D.C. “Button” Sikes and Precinct 4 Commissioner Rickie Carr announced they will be retiring after their terms end in 2018.

On the ballot in the Precinct 4 County Commissioner’s race, Jamie V. Whitley, Rodger Yoes, Donnie Sechrest, Eric O’Dell and Jim Blancq are running. In the Precinct 2 County Commissioner’s race, there are three candidates, Bear Grissom, Mark Campbell and Mark McCullough.

In the County Treasurer’s race, Robin McCarthy has signed up on the Republican ticket to challenge incumbent Sharon Trigg, who is seeking reelection.

Stephens County Clerk Jackie Ensey and District Clerk Christie Coapland have applied for reelection and are running unopposed. Graham Reaugh is also running unopposed for Stephens County Republican County Chair.

Additionally, statewide, the ballot will include: U.S. Senator; U.S. Representatives for Districts 11 and 19, Governor; Lieutenant Governor; Attorney General; Comptroller of Public Accounts; Commissioner of the General Land Office; Commissioner of Agriculture; Railroad Commissioner; Texas Supreme Court Justice for Places 2, 4 and 6; Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge; Court of Criminal Appeals Judge for Places 7 and 8; State Representative for District 60; and, 11th Court of Appeals District Chief Justice.

To register to vote, fill out an application at the Stephens County Voter Registrar’s Office, which is also the Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office in the courthouse. You can also find an application online to fill out and mail in. Links to the application, as well as to a page that helps you figure out if you’re already registered to vote, can be found on the State of Texas’ website

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights