Breckenridge Texan

Brian Kight named Citizen of the Year at annual Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce banquet

Brian Kight named Citizen of the Year at annual Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce banquet
November 07
07:38 2023

By Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

On Saturday evening, Nov. 4, the Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce held its annual banquet and awards ceremony, celebrating the community’s history and achievements.

The highlight of the event at local Elks Lodge was the awards presentation, which included:

  • Citizen of the Year — Brian Kight
  • Business of the Year — Ol’ Timer’s Diner
  • Ag Citizen of the Year — Darcy Turner
  • Educator of the Year — Jennifer McKay
  • Civic Organization of the Year — Stephens County 4-H

Brian Kight was presented with the Citizen of the Year award by last year’s recipients, Susan and Darrell Shortes. “This winner is no stranger to anybody in this community. This extraordinary individual works humbly and quietly behind the scenes,” Susan said, describing Kight before his name was announced. “With the kindest smile and a gentle spirit, this person invests their time in Dr. Goodall’s House, the Salvation Army, Boy Scout Troop 63 and Stephens County 4-H. This individual’s selflessness and generosity are an inspiration to many. This person also helps at the National Theatre when needed, is a former instructor at TSTC and volunteers at Cafe Love. You can even catch him putting out the flags at the Methodist church and grave sites on Memorial Day. He has impacted individuals’ lives in the most subtle of ways, and often, as I’ve been told, anonymously. He has a heart of gold and will do anything to help others.”

This year’s Business of the Year award was presented to Ol’ Timer’s Diner by the staff of Pit Stop BBQ, which was last year’s honoree, as well as the caterer for this year’s banquet. Ol’ Timer’s Diner owner Paula Roach accepted the award and was praised for the diner’s unwavering dedication to customer service and quality food.

As the Ag Citizen of the Year, Darcy Turner’s involvement in the family business, Turner Seed, was touted. “This year’s recipient operates a family-owned business, which is key to the success of  farmers and ranchers not only in Stephens County but across the entire United States,” last year’s Ag Citizen of the Year, Jerry Toland, said, leading up to announcing Turner’s name. “People travel far and wide to learn from him and his team, seeking advice on native grasses and range management. He is heavily involved in his church and has been involved with the youth baseball organization for many years. He has devoted much of his life to continuing the agriculture success of his customers. He continues to ensure that farmers are supplied with the best seed in the state of Texas.”

Incoming Chamber board president Ronnie Langford announced the Educator of the Year award recipient, Jennifer McKay, his fifth-grade reading teacher. He said her bright smile and friendly greetings are just what the kids need at East Elementary, where McKay is the assistant principal.

The Stephens County 4-H was chosen as the Civic Organization of the Year, and the award was accepted by local county extension agents Sumer Russell and Jessie Shortes, who oversee the 4-H program in Breckenridge, along with community volunteers. The award was presented by Sherry Evers, whose husband, the late Charles Evers, accepted the award for Cafe Love last year. The 4-H program has shown itself to be a true service organization, Sherry Evers said, pointing out the contributions to the community’s youth, including clubs for cooking, sewing, gardening and robotics, as well as mental health workshops and more.

The banquet also included comments by Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Yuri Huntington, Board President Jonathan Newton, Board Treasurer/Incoming President Ronnie Langford, Economic Development Corp. Executive Director David Miller, and City Manager Cynthia Northrop. There was a fundraising auction and silent auction, as well as raffles for prize packages and a door prize drawing.

Paula Roach, owner of Ol’ Timer’s Diner, at right, was presented with the Business of the Year award by Amanda Jamison with Pit Stop BBQ, last year’s winner of the award. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Darcy Turner, right, was named the Ag Citizen of the Year by the Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce. He was presented with the award by last year’s recipient, Jerry Toland. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

East Elementary Assistant Principal Jennifer McKay accepts the Educator of the Year award from Ronnie Langford, the incoming president of the Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Sumer Russell, center, and Jessie Shortes, right, accepted the Civic Organization of the Year award on behalf of the local 4-H Club. The award was presented to them by Sherry Evers, representing Cafe Love, which was honored last year. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Cutline, top photo: Brian Kight, right, received the Citizen of the Year award from the Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce on Saturday evening. He was presented with the award by last year’s honorees, Susan and Darrell Shortes. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights