Breckenridge Texan

BHS Class of 2022 receives scholarships, honors

BHS Class of 2022 receives scholarships, honors
May 25
11:45 2022

Breckenridge High School students gathered in Bailey Auditorium on Wednesday morning, May 18, along with family, friends and community members, for the 2022 BHS awards ceremony.

There were 100 scholarships presented to 24 students for more than $81,000. Additionally, the Buckaroo Awards for Academic Excellence were awarded, and those students who qualified for state competitions this year were honored.

The BHS Class of 2022 will graduate on Friday, May 27. The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. in the BISD Athletics and Fine Arts Center (the main gym), located at the corner of West Second and North Live Oak streets. For those who cannot attend, the ceremony will be livestreamed on the Buckaroo YouTube Channel. The livestream broadcast will be free for anyone to watch and will begin at 6:30 p.m.


The scholarships and recipients include:

Valedictorian by First National Bank of Breckenridge
Jaylen Harper

Salutatorian by Breckenridge InterBank
Liberty Vandergriff

Adam Nicholas Garcia Ag Memorial Scholarship
Kason Knight

Bobby Anderson Memorial Scholarship
Chad Wilcox, Elizabeth Woodward and Samantha Smalley

Bowers Memorial Scholarship by FUMC
Nathan Lechner and Shalyn Owen

Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce Scholarship
Savanah Fade, Jaylen Harper, Laney Thibodeaux, Aimee Toliver, Liberty Vandergriff and Abigale Wylie

Breckenridge Lion’s Club Scholarship
Aimee Toliver, Savanah Fade and Alex Fuson

Breckenridge Masonic Lodge Scholarship
Alex Fuson and Kason Knight

More than $81,000 in scholarships were awarded to 24 Breckenridge High School at the annual awards ceremony on May 18. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Casey Rodriguez Memorial Scholarship
Ayden Reyes

Cindi Woodward Breckenridge Buckaroo Cheerleader Scholarship
Elizabeth Woodward, Samantha Smalley, Aimee Toliver, Savanah Fade and Shalyn Owen

Class of 1960 to Honor Deceased Classmates
Royce McPhail and Savanah Fade

Class of 1965
Abigale Wylie

Class of 1974
Kason Knight

Cody Owen Memorial Scholarship
Shalyn Owen, Nathan Lechner and Kason Knight

Copperleaf Properties Johnny Lewis Memorial Scholarship
Shalyn Owen and Samantha Smalley

Dee Escalon Scholarship
Chad Wilcox and Ayden Reyes

 Friends of Johnny Corbett and Mitchel Sullivan Memorial Scholarship
Jaylen Harper, Sydney Garland and Elizabeth Woodward

Furr Scholarship by FUMC
Nathan Lechner and Shalyn Owen

Howard Pardue Memorial Scholarship by Paige Townson and Leigh Murray
Jaylen Harper

Jerry Tubbs Memorial Scholarship
Peyton  McPhail

Jimmy McCullough United Girls Softball Association Scholarship
Elena Arellano

Joe Crousen Memorial Scholarship
Chad Wilcox

John and Kate Bailey Memorial Scholarship
Alex Fuson and Savanah Fade

Johnny Corbett Memorial Scholarship
Kason Knight

Kimberley Brooke Pardue Memorial Scholarship by Lois Smalley
Aimee Toliver

KLXK/Lance Kitchens Scholarship
Abigale Wylie and Kason Knight

Larry Parker Memorial Scholarship
Chad Wilcox, Aimee Toliver and Elizabeth Woodward

Margaret Hallauer Memorial Scholarship
Nathan Lechner and Laney Thibodeaux

Marquis Martin Memorial Scholarship
Jaylen Harper and Samantha Smalley

Maude Allison Memorial Scholarship
Nathan Lechner

Mike Funderburg Memorial Scholarship by Class of 1980
Abigale Wylie

Owen D. Woodward Memorial Scholarship
Elizabeth Woodward, Samantha Smalley, Chad Wilcox, Kason Knight and Jimena Palacios

Pamela Pardue Midkiff Memorial Scholarship
Rylan Sims

Ray Findlay Memorial Scholarship
Chad Wilcox

Ron Downing Memorial Scholarship by Rotary Club
Nathan Lechner

Rotary Club Academic Excellence Scholarship
Rylan Sims

Rotary Club BISD Scholarship
Jaylen Harper and Royce McPhail

Rotary Club Mitchel & Terry Sullivan Memorial Scholarship
Samantha Smalley

Sue Boland Memorial Scholarship by St. Paul United Methodist Church
Scarlett Brashear and Jeremy Weaver

Stephens County 4-H Scholarship
Kason Knight

Stephens County Farm Bureau Scholarship
Kason Knight, Abigale Wylie and Liberty Vandergriff

Stephens County Jr. Livestock Show Scholarship
Sydney Garland, Kason Knight and Rylan Sims

Stephens County Crime Stoppers
Abigale Wylie and Sydney Garland

Stephens Memorial Hospital Foundation Scholarship
Savanah Fade, Peyton McPhail, Mya Mae Guillory, Jimena Palacios and Samantha Smalley

Tanner Ray French Memorial Scholarship
Yulianna Ornelas, Jimena Palacios and Abigale Wylie

Theater Scholarship by Marlene Tubbs
Jaylen Harper

This Is My Texas Art Contest Scholarship by Ron Hoover RV & Marine Center
Liberty Vandergriff, Sydney Garland and Aimee Toliver

Turner/Williams Memorial Scholarship
Kason Knight, Sydney Garland and Rylan Sims

Van Robbins Memorial Vocational Scholarship
Savanah Fade

Weldon Edwards Memorial Scholarship
Aimee Toliver

Woman’s Forum Scholarship
Liberty Vandergriff

Anonymous Donor
Yulianna Ornelas


The Buckaroo Award for Academic Excellence is earned by students taking honors classes and maintaining a specific GPA. Freshmen and sophomores must take at least one honors class and have a 3.5 GPA. Juniors must take at least two honors classes and have a 3.6 GPA, and seniors must take at least two honors classes and have a 3.65 GPA.

This year’s Buckaroo Awards for Academic Excellence were given to the following:

Savanah Fade, Alexander Fuson, Sydney Garland, Jaylen Harper, Austin Hill, Peyton McPhail, Royce McPhail, Rylan Sims, Aimee Marie Toliver, Liberty Vandergriff and Elizabeth Woodward

McKenna Adams, Ezekiel David, Heer Gandhi, Parks Gill, Cali Griffin, Grace Harper,  Jake Malcuit, Monserat Mendoza, Tristan Myers, Abigail Otts, Keaton Ragle, Anson Rodgers, Avery Rodgers, Elizabeth San Lucas, Cara Schkade, Haigen Thompson, Lourdes Trejo Rivera and Chase Wright

Valerie Beltran, Matthew Bueno, Andrew Cortez, Ryleigh Cowan, Kyla Curtis, Alexis Franco, Violeta Gallegos, Emily Gooch, Victorian Gotschall, Kamryn Larremore, Haylie Mendoza, Aaron Moore, Alex Palacios, Zaea Ragle, Cora Roan, Charlie Salazar, Stephan Sanchez, Karter Smalley and Alexis Vick

Elijah Chisholm, Hunter Clayton, Carson Duran, Jaxon Escalon, Cody Gibson, Malichi Harper, Isaac Hernandez Pina, Teresa Houdek, Joni Jackson, Saxon Knust, Kaylee Langford, Jack McKay, Solae Mendez, Timothy Newell, Cabel Perkins, Giselle Reyes, Jocelyn Reyes, Miley Roberts, Antley Rodgers, John Sackett, Alejandro Saucedo, Ruthie Valdez, Sawyer Wimberley and Makayla Wright


The state competitors for the 2021-2022 academic year include:

Track and Field
Chase Lehr, Sean Cooksey, Adrian Ruiz, Sawyer Wimberley, Daniel Valdez and Anson Rodgers

Forage Evaluation CDE
Sydney Garland, Kason Knight and Rylan Sims

UIL Congress
Jaylen Harper, Alex Fuson and Jeremy Weaver

Breckenridge High School Class of 2022 Salutatorian Liberty Vandergriff received a scholarship from Ron Hoover RV & Marine for winning the local This Is My Texas art contest. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)


Cutline, top photo: Abby Moore hugs Breckenridge High School Class of 2022 Valedictorian Jaylen Harper after presenting him and Samantha Smalley with the Marquis Martin Memorial Scholarship at the annual awards ceremony on May 18. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)


Make sure you don’t miss any of the Breckenridge Texan’s news…click here to sign up for our email newsletter, the Weekly News Roundup. It has links to stories, photo galleries and more! It’s free to sign up, and it comes to you on Monday mornings (sometimes on Tuesdays after a holiday).


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights