Breckenridge Texan

Local incumbents re-elected to office; Rogers and Olcott to have runoff on May 24

Local incumbents re-elected to office; Rogers and Olcott to have runoff on May 24
March 02
20:32 2022

By Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

The two incumbents in the only contested local political races in Tuesday’s primary election were re-elected to their positions in Stephens County. In the Texas House of Representatives – District 60, incumbent Glenn Rogers will be in a runoff election with Mike Olcott.

Stephens County Judge Michael Roach and County Commissioner Eric O’Dell check out the results of Tuesday night’s election. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Stephens County Clerk Jackie Ensey garnered 1,084 votes, and her opponent, D’Jean Thompson, had 429 votes. Stephens County Treasurer Sharon Trigg received 911 votes, and her opponent Nicole Cantrell got 557 votes.

State Rep. Rogers faced three competitors in the race for the newly reconfigured House District 60. Stephens County is in the Texas House of Representatives District 60, which currently includes Stephens, Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Eastland, Shackelford, Palo Pinto and Hood counties, and is represented by  Rogers. However, the district was reconfigured in the redistricting by the Texas Legislature last year, and the new District 60 will include only Stephens, Palo Pinto and Parker counties.

In the Republican Primary, Rogers received a total of 12,160 votes – 43.69% of the votes cast in the race. Olcott, who lives in Parker County, garnered 10,045 votes – 36.09%. Candidates Kit Marshall and Lucas Turner received 3,236 and 2,393 votes, respectively.

Because none of the candidates received more than 50 percent of the votes, the top two candidates – Rogers and Olcott – will have a runoff election on May 24. Voters are allowed to vote only in the runoff election for the party they voted for in the primary election. However, if a voter did not cast a ballot in the primary, they can vote in either a Democratic or Republican runoff race. That means, voters who voted in the Republican Primary or who did not vote in the primary election on Tuesday may vote in the May 24 runoff between Rogers and Olcott. Those who voted in the Democratic Primary may not vote in the Republican Primary runoff.

In the State Senate-District 10 race for the Republican nomination, Phil King received a total of 51,204 votes – 75.52%, and Warren V. Norred received 16,601 votes – 24.48%. In the Democratic Primary, District 10, Beverly Powell ran unopposed and received 27,104 votes.

The Texas Senate districts also were reconfigured last year, and Stephens County has been moved from District 28, which is currently represented by Charles Perry, to District 10, which will include Stephens, Shackelford, Palo Pinto, Callahan, Brown, Johnson and parts of Parker and Tarrant counties. The current District 10 is composed of several Tarrant County communities, and Powell is the current District 10 senator. King is the current State Representative for District 61.

Likewise, for the U.S. House of Representatives seat, Stephens County has been put in a different district than it has been in. Currently, the county is split, with the southern half in District 11, represented by August Pfluger, and the northern half in District 19, represented by Jodey Arrington.

Pfluger and Arrington will continue to represent their respective districts through the end of 2022. But, beginning with Tuesday’s primaries, local voters are voting in the reconfigured District 25, which includes Stephens, Young, Jack, Palo Pinto, Eastland, Erath, Comanche, Hood and Somervell counties, and parts of Parker, Callahan, Tarrant and Johnson counties.

Roger Williams represents the current District 25, which includes Bosque, Burnet, Coryell, Hamilton, Hill, Johnson, Lampasas, and Somervell counties and parts of Bell, Erath, Hays, Tarrant, and Travis counties. He was the only Republican candidate for the new District 25 and received 68,660 votes. There was not a Democratic candidate for U.S. House District 25.

All of the other candidates running for local office in the Republican Primary were unopposed. The candidates received the following votes:

County Judge – Michael Roach – 1.411

District Clerk – Christie Coapland – 1,392

Justice of the Peace – Steve Spoon – 1,318

County Commissioner – Precinct 2 – Mark McCullough – 460

County Commissioner – Precinct 4 – Eric O’Dell – 368

Republican Party Chair – Chuck Cook – 1,021

Democratic Party Chair – Tommy Thompson – 35

Even if a candidate received the Republican Party nomination via the Primary Election and had no Democratic Party candidate for that office, they are not automatically considered to be elected to the office. The General Election will be on Nov. 8, and write-in candidates can file a declaration of write-in candidacy between July 23 and Aug. 22.

The local election results are unofficial until they have been canvased by the County Commissioners. Additionally, there is a possibility that a few mail-in ballots could arrive in the mail within the allowed timeframe, but Elections Administrator Christie Latham said that there weren’t enough potential mail-in ballots to affect either of the contested local races.

For all of the state and national office results, visit the Texas Secretary of State’s Election Results webpage.


Cutline, top photo: Stephens County Elections Administrator Christie Latham and Crystal Shook post the grand totals from Tuesday’s Primary Election. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)


Make sure you don’t miss any of the Breckenridge Texan’s news…click here to sign up for our email newsletter, the Weekly News Roundup. It has links to stories, photo galleries and more! It’s free to sign up, and it comes to you on Monday mornings (sometimes on Tuesdays after a holiday).


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights