Breckenridge Texan

BISD swears in new school board members

BISD swears in new school board members
June 05
09:51 2021

The Breckenridge Independent School District recently swore in four members of the Board of Trustees, two incumbents and two new members.

At the regular meeting on May 10, BISD school board president Graham Reaugh, Paul Lippe and Chad Townson were sworn in after being elected to the positions. In the election, Reaugh ran unopposed and was automatically re-elected to Place 1. Lippe was opposed by Jimmy McKay for Place 2; Lippe won the election 177-167.

In the special election to fill the unexpired Place 7 position, Chad Townson was elected to replace Ardes Johnson, who resigned in February. Townson received 181 votes, and his opponent, Tammy Wimberley-Anderson, received 162 votes.

Additionally, in April, Cody Wimberley, who had served in Place 4 for the past two years resigned. On May 10, the board voted to appoint McKay to serve the unexpired term, which has one year left. McKay was sworn in during a special meeting on Thursday, June 3.

Newly appointed school board member Jimmy McKay signs documents after being sworn in during a special meeting on Thursday. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Cutline, top photo: Brittany Edgar, center, swears in three recently elected school board members, Paul Lippe, Graham Reaugh and Chad Townson, at the May 10 meeting of the Breckenridge Independent School District’s Board of Trustees. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)


Make sure you don’t miss any of the Breckenridge Texan’s news…click here to sign up for our email newsletter, the Weekly News Roundup. It has links to stories, photo galleries and more! It’s free to sign up, and it comes to you on Monday mornings.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights