Breckenridge Texan

Lippe, Townson and Reaugh win BISD school board races

Lippe, Townson and Reaugh win BISD school board races
May 02
09:01 2021

With the conclusion the Breckenridge Independent School District’s combined regular and special elections on Saturday, the school board will have one new member, according to information provided by the district.

In the special election to fill the unexpired Place 7 position, Chad Townson was elected to replace Ardes Johnson, who resigned in February. Townson received 181 votes, and his opponent, Tammy Wimberley-Anderson, received 162 votes.

Saturday’s BISD Board of Trustees ballot also included two places that were up for regular election. Place 2 had two candidates, incumbent Paul Lippe and Jimmy McKay. Although McKay was leading during early voting, Lippe brought in more votes on Election Day, and won the election 177-167.

Place 1 was an uncontested race featuring incumbent Graham Reaugh, who currently serves as President of the Board of Trustees. He received a total of 312 votes during the election.

But, the BISD board isn’t complete yet. There is still one vacancy after the board met last week to accept the resignation of Cody Wimberley, who served in Place 4 for the past two years. The unexpired term has one year left, and the board will appoint a trustee to serve until the next election.

Here is a breakdown of the May 1 election:

Breckenridge ISD May 2021 Election

Position/CandidatesEarly VotingElection DayTotal
Place 1
Graham Reaugh22290312
Place 2
Jimmy McKay13235167
Paul Lippe11067177
Place 7 (unexpired)
Tammy Wimberley-Anderson10557162
Chad Townson14041181
Information provided by the Breckenridge Independent School District on May 1, 2021.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights