Breckenridge Texan

BISD Board of Trustees holds special meeting to accept Wimberley’s resignation from board

BISD Board of Trustees holds special meeting to accept Wimberley’s resignation from board
April 26
16:01 2021

By Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

The Breckenridge Independent School District Board of Trustees met in a special meeting at 12:15 p.m. today, Monday, April 26, and accepted the resignation of board member Cody Wimberley, effective immediately.

BISD Board of Trustees member Cody Wimberley, who was elected in 2019, has resigned from his position on the board. He is pictured here at a November 2019 meeting. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

The position will be filled by appointment by the Board of Trustees after the current election, which is being held for three other positions on the board.

Wimberley was elected in 2019 when he ran against the Place 4 incumbent Patrick Escalon, winning by 38 votes (175 votes to 137). He still had a year left on his three-year term when he resigned.

BISD Superintendent Bryan Allen said that the position will be filled by appointment only for the remainder of the unexpired term. Next year, the position will be up for election, and at that time, the newly appointed trustee can decide whether or not to run for the position.

Other business

In other business in today’s special meeting, the board approved the hiring of several teachers and other personnel and approved a donation by the Breckenridge All Sports Booster Club.

Allen explained to the board members that, as superintendent, he has the ability to accept donations to the school district, except in the case that the donor wants to specify what the money can be used for. In this case, the booster club wanted to donate $2,300 for 7-on-7 football league uniforms, helmets and other other equipment and to send the kids to 7-on-7 tournaments this year. Therefore, the board needed to approve the donation, which they did unanimously.


Tomorrow, Tuesday, April 27, is the last day of early voting in the current BISD Board of Trustees election. Voting will take place at the BISD Administration building, 208 N. Miller St., from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Tuesday. Then, Election Day will be Saturday, May 1, and voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the administration building.

The BISD Board of Trustees initially had two places up for election — Place 1, currently held by School Board President Graham Reaugh, and Place 2, currently held by Paul Lippe. Then, in February, Ardes Johnson resigned from Place 7. Since that is an unexpired term, it requires a Special Election, which will be held on the same day as the regular election, May 1, and with the same early voting times.

The ballot will include:

  • Place 1: Graham Reaugh
  • Place 2: Paul Lippe and Jimmy McKay
  • Place 7: Chad Townson and Tammy Wimberley-Anderson

Cutline, top photo: BISD Board of Trustee members and school district representatives met in a special meeting at 12:15 p.m. Monday, April 26, to accept the resignation of board member Cody Wimberley. Pictured, from left, are Paul Lippe, Carrol Kanady, Brittany Edgar, Nic McClymond, Graham Reaugh and Bryan Allen. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Make sure you don’t miss any of the Breckenridge Texan’s news…click here to sign up for our email newsletter, the Weekly News Roundup. It has links to stories, photo galleries and more! It’s free to sign up, and it comes to you every Monday morning.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights