Breckenridge Texan

School board election set for May 4; City, hospital elections canceled

School board election set for May 4; City, hospital elections canceled
February 24
11:19 2019

Stephens County and Breckenridge voters will only have one election on May 4, since the school board was the only entity with more than one candidate for any of the offices that are up for election this year. The City of Breckenridge and the Stephens Memorial Hospital District have canceled their elections.

BISD Board of Trustees

There are three positions up for election on the Breckenridge Independent School District’s Board of Trustees — Place 3, currently held by Carey Woodward; Place 4, currently held by Patrick Escalon; and Place 5, currently held by Russell Creager.

Slated to be on the ballot are:

Place 3 – Roy Russell
Place 4 – Pat Escalon and Cody Wimberley
Place 5 – Russell Creager and Carrol Kanady

All three positions are for three-year terms.

Early voting will be from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays Monday, April 22, through Tuesday April 30, at the BISD Administration office, 208 N. Miller St. Even though Monday, April 22, is a school holiday, the office will be open for early voting. Election Day voting will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.Saturday May 4, at the Administration office.

For more information about the BISD Board of Trustees election, call the BISD office at 254-522-9600.

Breckenridge City Commission

The Breckenridge Commission offices that are up for election this year are Place 3, currently held by David Wimberley, and Place 4, currently held by Tom Cyprian. They both are running unopposed, and therefore an election is not necessary.

Tony Garcia had filed to run for Place 4 but later filed a Certificate of Withdrawal.

All of the documents pertaining to Wimberley, Cyprian and Garcia are available as PDFs on the City of Breckenridge’s website election page. Click here to see those documents.

For more information about the Breckenridge City Commission, call Heather Robertson-Caraway, City Secretary, at 254-559-8287.

Stephens Memorial Hospital District Board of Directors

There are three at-large positions up for election on the Stephens Memorial Hospital District’s Board of Directors. Those positions are currently held by Tom Echols, Ted Goldsmith and J.M. Simmonds. All three candidates are running unopposed, and an election is not required.

For more information about the SMH District Board of Directors, call the hospital at 254-559-2241.

Voter Registration

The last day to register to vote in the May 4 BISD Board of Trustees election will be April 4.

To register to vote, go to the Stephens County Tax Office/Voter Registrar’s office at the courthouse and fill out a voter registration application. If you have lost your voter registration card, call the tax office/voter registrar at 254-559-2732 or 254-559-6513 and they can issue you a duplicate card. If you have moved since you registered, you will need to go by the tax office/voter registrar and fill out an address change form.

For more information about registering to vote, visit the Texas Secretary of State’s Vote Texas website, where you can find all of the qualifications for registering, as well as find out whether or not you are already registered to vote.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights