Breckenridge Texan

Early Voting for primary runoff election begins today

Early Voting for primary runoff election begins today
May 14
13:30 2018

Early Voting in the runoff for the Republican and Democratic Primary Elections began Monday, May 14, and will continue through Friday, May 18, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day at the Stephens County Courthouse, 200 W. Walker St. Election Day will be Tuesday, May 22, at each precinct’s voting location.

Election Judge Beth Calvert said that by 8:30 a.m. Monday, 25 voters had cast their ballots.

Locally, the Republican Primary Runoff Election will include two offices, County Commissioner Precinct 4 and Justice of the Peace. Eric O’Dell and Jamie Whitley, who garnered 168 and 140 votes, respectively, in March’s Republican Primary Election, are vying for the county commissioner position. In March, in the Justice of the Peace race, Steve Spoon received 607 votes and Leslie Blackerby received 495 votes, with neither garnering more than 50 percent of the total votes. To read more about each of those candidates, click here for the Breckenridge Texan Candidate Profiles.

Those two races are the only ones on the local Republican Primary Runoff ballot; there are no state-wide offices in the runoff. On the Democratic Primary Runoff ballot, the only office in a runoff is for the Democratic nominee for governor. The two candidates vying for that office are Lupe Valdez and Andrew White.

Because the election is a primary runoff, there are some rules that need to be followed, in addition to the regular Texas election rules. If you voted in a party primary, you’re eligible to vote in that primary’s runoff.

However, the Texas Election Code states that if you have been affiliated with a particular party during the same voting year — by either participating in a party’s primary or convention — you are eligible to vote in only in that same party’s primary runoff election. For example, a voter who participated in the Democratic primary can only vote in the Democratic primary runoff and is not eligible to vote in the Republican primary runoff.

A voter who is not affiliated with either party – by voting in the primary or participating in one of the conventions – may vote in either party’s primary runoff.

Cutline, top photo: Election Judge Beth Calvert waits to check in voters during early voting for the primary runoff election Monday morning. Early voting will be going on from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Friday. Calvert said that by 8:30 a.m. Monday, 25 voters had already cast their ballots. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Support The Breckenridge Texan


QUILT SHOW The Breckenridge Fine Arts Center’s 2018 Quilt Show opened May 8 and will continue through June 29. The BFAC is located at 207 N. Breckenridge Ave. and is open to the public.

BHS GRADUATION The Breckenridge High School Class of 2018 will graduate at 7 p.m. Friday, May 25. The ceremony will be held in the BHS Athletic Facility (aka the “new gym”).

BRECKENRIDGE AIRSHOW The 21st Breckenridge Airshow will take place May 26-27 at the Stephens County Airport. For more information, visit the website

KIDS SOAP MAKING CLASS The Stephens County Extension office will offer a Soap Making Class for kids in grades 2-12 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday, June 5, at the Extension office, 2622 Highway 180 East (at the intersection of State Highway 67 and U.S. Highway 180). The fee for the class will be $35 per student, and the class is limited to 15 kids. Attendees will need to take a sack lunch. For more information or to register, call Sumer Russell at 254-559-2313.

BATTLE OF THE BADGES BLOOD DRIVE The Rotary Club of Breckenridge will host a friendly competition between the Breckenridge Fire Department, the Stephens County Sheriff’s Office and the Breckenridge Police Department via a blood drive. Those donating blood can do so in the name of one of the three emergency offices. The blood drive will take place over three days at three different locations: Thursday, June 7, 1-5 p.m., First National Bank; Friday, June 8, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Stephens Memorial Hospital; and, Saturday, June 9, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., First National Bank. For more information, call Sherry or Les Strickland at 254-522-1959.

NON-PROFIT SCHOOLS MEETING The Breckenridge Independent School District will hold a meeting for private, non-profit schools and home schools with tax-exempt status. Participants will discuss available funding to eligible private school students and the conditions for participating in programs paid with Title I, Part A funding. The meeting will be at the BISD Administration Building Board Room, 212 N. Miller Ave., at 10 a.m. Thursday, June 7. For more information, contact Molly Johnson, BISD director of curriculum and instruction, at 254-522-9600.

Paid Political Ad Policy

The Breckenridge Texan’s policies allow for the inclusion of paid political ads on the website, The ads do not reflect the views of, or serve as an endorsement by, the Breckenridge Texan website or its staff or leadership. The Breckenridge Texan does not endorse political candidates or parties.


The Breckenridge Texan is dedicated to evenhanded news reporting of political activities, events, and statements. The Breckenridge Texan accepts political advertising without bias or regard to party or candidate. The Breckenridge Texan has the responsibility to reject material that is libelous, obscene, or fraudulent or that does not otherwise meet its standards.


When paid political ads are running, a copy of this policy will be posted on the front page of the website in the right column.


All paid political ads will be clearly marked with the statement “Political ad paid for by (Name of Person Paying for Ad),” as required by the Texas Elections Law.