Breckenridge Texan

Herdsman Awards winners, others honored at awards banquet

Herdsman Awards winners, others honored at awards banquet
February 02
11:43 2018

At the awards banquet for the 2018 Stephens County Junior Livestock Show and Sale, the annual buckle presentations were made and the checks from the sale were distributed. Additionally, many of the volunteers who assisted with the event were honored for their work.

One of the first things on the agenda was the Herdsman Awards presentation. The George Blackburn Memorial Herdsman Award is named after the late George Blackburn, a former Stephens County Extension Agent, explained Glenda Knight, who served as the co-chairman of the Showmanship Division for the SCJLS.

“He was more of a herdsman of kids,” Knight said. “That’s why, when, I believe it was, the Garden Club decided to put on an extra award in the stock show, they said, ‘We’re going to name it after George Blackburn because he was a herdsman of the kids.’ That’s what he was, first and foremost.”

To be a herdsman applicant, the stock show exhibitors must sign up to participate and then write two essays about their stock show project, complete their record book and be interviewed by a committee. The winners receive belt buckles.

The winners of the 2018 George Blackburn Memorial Herdsman Awards were:

  • Poultry Junior Herdsman Award – Hannah Moreno
  • Poultry Senior Herdsman Award – Tanner Cantrell
  • Rabbit Junior Herdsman Award – McKayden Ritter
  • Rabbit Senior Herdsman Award – Braxton Post
  • Sheep Senior Herdsman Award – Halle Harvick
  • Goat Junior Herdsman Award – Sydney Garland
  • Goat Senior Herdsman Award – Caroline Turner
  • Swine Junior Herdsman Award – Kason Burchett
  • Swine Senior Herdsman Award – Jimmy McKay
  • Cattle Junior Herdsman Award – Kadynce Kennedy
  • Cattle Senior Herdsman Award – Madison Warren

The buckles sponsored by:

  • Yellowhair Buckle Company
  • Melton Kitchens Funeral Home
  • Will and Denise Thompson
  • Jim and Jennifer McKay
  • Butch and Glenda Knight
  • Parker Energy
  • Matt and Cassie Parker
  • GMA Show Pigs
  • Michael Herrington, PC
  • Roy and Sumer Russell
  • Ky and Shelby Kennedy

Also honored at the awards banquet were volunteers, the showmanship winners and the grand and reserve champions in each category.

The grand champion and reserve champion winners from the 2018 Stephens County Junior Livestock Show and Sale received their buckles at the annual awards banquet. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

The showmanship winners in the 2018 Stephens County Junior Livestock Show and Sale received their buckles at the annual awards banquet. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Cutline, top photo: Winners of the George Blackburn Memorial Herdsman Awards were, from left, Tanner Cantrell, Kason Burchett, McKayden Ritter, Hannah Moreno, Sydney Garland, Caroline Turner, Jimmy McKay, Kadynce Kennedy and Madison Warren. Not pictured are award winners Braxton Post and Halle Harvick. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Story by Carla McKeown/Breckenridge Texan

Click here to go back to the main Stock Show page.


Support The Breckenridge Texan

Paid Political Ad Policy

The Breckenridge Texan’s policies allow for the inclusion of paid political ads on the website, The ads do not reflect the views of, or serve as an endorsement by, the Breckenridge Texan website or its staff or leadership. The Breckenridge Texan does not endorse political candidates or parties.


The Breckenridge Texan is dedicated to evenhanded news reporting of political activities, events, and statements. The Breckenridge Texan accepts political advertising without bias or regard to party or candidate. The Breckenridge Texan has the responsibility to reject material that is libelous, obscene, or fraudulent or that does not otherwise meet its standards.


When paid political ads are running, a copy of this policy will be posted on the front page of the website in the right column.


All paid political ads will be clearly marked with the statement “Political ad paid for by (Name of Person Paying for Ad),” as required by the Texas Elections Law.