Breckenridge Texan

Buckaroos dominate list of All-District awards

Buckaroos dominate list of All-District awards
December 21
17:55 2017

After dominating district play in the 2017 season, the Breckenridge High School varsity football team also took the lead in the UIL All-District Awards for District 4-3A Division I, which were announced this afternoon. The Buckaroos were awarded five of the six Superlatives and have 12 players on the First All-District Team and five on the Second All-District Team.

BHS senior Zach Willis was named Most Valuable Player, and senior Warren Hardy was named Co-Defensive Most Valuable Player. Senior Jose Escobedo was named Special Teams Player of the Year, and sophomore Owen Woodward was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year. The Breckenridge High School coaches were named the Coaching Staff of the Year.

The awards were announced Thursday evening, Dec. 21, following the State Championship game between the Brock High School Eagles and the Rockdale High School Tigers. Rockdale beat Brock 45-29.

The Buckaroos became district champions when they beat Brock 30-28 on Nov. 28, ending the regular season with a record of 5-5 and a district record of 5-0.

“I think it took us a little while to get going, but our kids got a lot of fight in ’em. And, they did a good job,” Buckaroo Head Coach Casey Hubble said. “They never gave up, and it takes a little while to install a new offense and make sure we got all the pieces in the right places. But, it’s just a testament to how hard our kids kept working and continued to believe in what we were doing and just went to work every day. Success doesn’t just happen overnight. It’s a testament to them, it’s that simple.”

Six of the 17 BHS players on the All-District team are seniors, meaning that 11 of the players can come back next year. “I think we have a great start (next season) with what we got coming back,” Hubble said. “We’re losing some really good players, there’s no doubt about that. But, with what we got coming back and some of some of the kids we’re going to have coming up, I think the future is pretty bright.”

The complete list of Breckenridge High School’s All-District awards are:

Most Valuable Player – Senior Zach Willis
Co-Defensive MVP – Senior Warren Hardy
Offensive Newcomer of the Year – Sophomore Owen Woodward
Special Teams Player of the Year – Senior Jose Escobedo
Coaching Staff of the Year – Breckenridge High School

First Team Offense
Running Back – Junior Angel Ruiz
Tight End – Sophomore Jake Escalon
Wide Receiver – Junior Kyler Knight
Center – Junior Lane Berkley
Guard – Junior Marvin Phillips
Tackle – Junior Rance Russell

First Team Defense
Defensive Line – Junior Rance Russell
Defensive End – Senior Terrance Roberson
Inside LB – Sophomore Jake Escalon
Outside LB – Senior Chucky Perez
Safety – Senior Riley Durham
Cornerback – Junior Angel Ruiz

Second Team Offense
Wide Receiver – Sophomore Aaryn Medina
Tackle – Sophomore Tanner Cantrell

Second Team Defense
Defensive Line – Junior Marvin Phillips
Defensive End – Junior Eric Valdez
Safety – Junior Kevin Franco


Story by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan

Cutline, top photo: Breckenridge High School dominated the list of Superlatives in the 4-3A UIL All-District awards. For more images, click here for the Breckenridge Texan gallery. (Image by Calvin Best/Breckenridge Independent School District and courtesy of Casey Hubble)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights