Breckenridge Texan

Nominations for annual Chamber awards due Friday, Feb. 26

Nominations for annual Chamber awards due Friday, Feb. 26
February 21
09:43 2021

The Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce will accept nominations for its annual awards through Friday, Feb. 26.

On Thursday, April 8, the Chamber will present the awards for the 2020 Citizen of the Year, Ag Citizen of the Year, Business of the Year, Educator of the Year and Civic Organization of the Year. The awards, which will be presented at the 2021 Awards Ceremony, will honor those who made significant contributions to the community in 2020.

Last year, the Chamber added two new awards to the lineup — Educator of the Year and Civic Organization of the Year. Nominees for the Educator of the Year can be any local educator from any of the Breckenridge Independent School District campuses or from Texas State Technical College.

There are three methods that you can use to nominate a person, business or organization for an award:

  • Fill out the online form on the Chamber’s website;
  • Mail your submission to the Chamber at P.O. Box 1466, Breckenridge, TX 76424;
  • Or, drop off your nomination in person at the Chamber office, 100 E. Elm St.

Your nomination should include your name, telephone numbers, category for which you are nominating, the name of your nominee, a summary of why your nominee should receive the award, and details about your nominee’s achievements and contributions to the community of Breckenridge. All nominations must be received by the Chamber by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 26.

Last year’s honorees were:

  • Mike and Cassie Griffith — Citizen of the Year
  • Copperleaf Properties — Business of the Year
  • Jackie Grissom — Ag Citizen of the Year
  • Robert Burchett — Educator of the Year
  • Meals on Wheels — Organization of the Year

For more information on the nomination process, call the Chamber of Commerce at 254-559-2301.

The awards ceremony is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. Thursday, April 8, at First United Methodist Church’s Christian Life Center, 419 W. Walker. More details will be available in the coming weeks.

Cutline, top photo: Mike and Cassie Griffith, center accept the 2019 Citizens of the Year Award at the annual Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce awards ceremony last year. The 2018 Citizen of the Year, Barbara Thornton, right, presented them with the award. Diane Williams, left, representing U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway’s office, presented them with a certificate from the congressman. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights