Breckenridge Texan

Scholarships, awards presented at annual BHS ceremony on Thursday

Scholarships, awards presented at annual BHS ceremony on Thursday
May 19
16:53 2019

Breckenridge High School students, faculty, staff and administration gathered Thursday morning, May 16, along with family, friends and community members, for the 2019 BHS awards ceremony.

Thousands of dollars in scholarships were given to students, and the Buckaroo Awards for Academic Excellence were awarded. Additionally, those students who have qualified for state competitions this year were honored.


The scholarships and recipients include:

Valedictorian by Breckenridge InterBank
AnnaKate Rodgers

Jonathan Newton with First National Bank presents the Salutatorian Scholarship to Alyssa Reyes at the BHS ceremony on Thursday morning. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/ Breckenridge Texan_

Salutatorian by First National Bank
Alyssa Reyes

Adam Nicholas Garcia Ag Memorial Scholarship
Blake Lee, Rance Russell and Marvin Phillips

Adams Real Estate Scholarship
Kevin Franco, Kyler Knight and Jasie Poindexter

ASA Softball Scholarship
Morgan Hash

BISD Scholarship by Rotary Club
Braden Campbell, Sophia Moun and Baylee Young

Landry Woodward, Yvette Galan and Chasity Fraley

Breckenridge Bass Club
Sophia Moun and Lany Berkley

Breckenridge Elks – CD Anderson Scholarship
Alyssa Reyes

Breckenridge Elks – Floyd Watts Scholarship
Landry Woodward

Breckenridge Chamber of Commerce Scholarship
Kelton Wylie, Carly Tennison, Marvin Phillips, Braden Campbell, Jimmy McKay and Zachary Smith

Breckenridge FFA Alumni Scholarship
Zachary Smith, Griffin Flournoy and Jimmy McKay

Breckenridge Lion’s Club Scholarship
Griffin Flournoy, Jaynae Mendez and Baylee Young

Breckenridge Masonic Lodge Scholarship
Braden Campbell, AnnaKate Rodgers and Morgan Hash

Casey Rodriguez Memorial Scholarship
Marvin Phillips, Yvette Galan and Alyssa Reyes

Cindi Woodward Breckenridge Buckaroo Cheerleader Scholarship
D’Andrey Silva, Yvette Galan and Landry Woodward

Class of 1961
Griffin Flournoy, Madison Warren and Kelton Wylie

Class of 1965
Kelton Wylie

Class of 1974
Carly Tennison

Class of 1979 Memorial Scholarship
Morgan Hash

Copperleaf Properties Johnny Lewis Memorial Scholarship
Carly Tennison and Baylee Young

Dee Escalon Scholarship
Kyler Knight and D’Andrey Silva

Frank Casey Memorial Scholarship
Carly Tennison

Frank Casey Memorial Technical Scholarship
Kyler Knight

Friends of Johnny Corbett and Mitchel Sullivan Memorial Scholarship
Blake Lee and Landry Woodward

Howard Pardue Memorial Scholarship by Paige Townson and Leigh Murray
Lane Berkley

Houston “Boscar” Satterwhite Golf Scholarship by the Class of 1960
Lane Berkley

Jerry Tubbs Scholarship
Zachary Smith

Jimmy McCullough Softball Scholarship
Alyssa Reyes and Morgan Hash

Joe Crousen Memorial Scholarship
Blake Lee

John and Kate Bailey Memorial Scholarship
Griffin Flournoy and Carly Tennison

Johnny Corbett Memorial Scholarship
Rance Russell

Johnny Lewis Memorial Scholarship
Baylee Young and Carly Tennison

Jonell, Inc. Scholarship
AnnaKate Rodgers

Kimberley Brooke Pardue Memorial Scholarship by Lois Smalley
AnnaKate Rodgers

KLXK/Lance Kitchens Scholarship
Kelton Wylie

Larry Parker Memorial Scholarship
Lane Berkley and Kelton Wylie

Little Bucks Volleyball Scholarship
Kamryn Nicklas

MT7 Ranch Scholarship by Mike and Mary Terry
Samantha Heatley

Margaret Hallauer Memorial Scholarship
Jimmy McKay and Lance Byrd

Marquis Martin Memorial Scholarship
Kelton Wylie and Baylee Young

Mitchel and Terry Sullivan Memorial Scholarship by Rotary Club
AnnaKate Rodgers

Mothers of Buckaroos (MOB) Scholarship
Lane Berkley, Kevin Franco, Griffin Flournoy, Kyler Knight, Jimmy McKay, Marvin Phillips, Angel Ruiz, Rance Russell, D’Andrey Silva, Zachary Smith, Eric Valdez and Kelton Wylie

Owen D. Woodward Memorial Scholarship
Landry Woodward, Kyler Knight, Carly Tennison , Jimmy McKay and Rance Russell

Pamela Pardue Midkiff Memorial Scholarship
Griffin Flournoy

Rotary Club Academic Excellence Scholarship
Kelton Wylie and Blake Lee

Scotty Brown Memorial Scholarship
Mawnika Wright

State Farm Insurance Valedictorian Scholarship
AnnaKate Rodgers

Stephens County Farm Bureau Scholarship
Griffin Flournoy, Kyler Knight and Jimmy McKay

Stephens County Jr. Livestock Show Scholarship
Jasie Poindexter, Matthew Mathias, Jimmy McKay and Kyler Knight

Stephens Memorial Hospital Foundation Scholarship
Lance Byrd and Janae Mendez

Suicide Awareness Scholarship in Memory of Jimmy Jimenez and Anthony Pineda
Alyssa Reyes, Yvette Galan and Marvin Phillips

Tanner Ray French Memorial Scholarship
Hayley Nored, Rance Russell, Marvin Phillips and Landry Woodward

Turner/Williams Memorial Scholarship
Jimmy McKay and Rance Russell

Weldon Edwards Memorial Scholarship
Jaxon Adams

Woman’s Forum Scholarship
AnnaKate Rodgers

Anonymous Donor
Marvin Phillips

George, Archylou and Christopher Dickey Memorial Scholarship through Texas A&M University
Blake Lee

Royce Money Chancellor’s Award for Excellence through Abilene Christian University
Kelton Wylie

Lincoln Tech
Kyler Knight

James Pace Scholarship
Baylee Young


The Buckaroo Award for Academic Excellence is earned by students taking honors classes and maintaining a specific GPA. Freshmen and sophomores must take at least one honors class and have a 3.5 GPA. Juniors must take at least two honors classes and have a 3.6 GPA, and seniors must take at least two honors classes and have a 3.65 GPA.

This year’s Buckaroo Awards for Academic Excellence were given to the following:

Griffin Flournoy, Morgan Hash, Samantha Heatley, Blake Lee, Alyssa Reyes, AnnaKate Rodgers, Zachary Smith, and Kelton Wylie

Liberty Blades, Kaitlyn Crook, Rolando Gallegos, Tristan Garcia, Rylee Holcomb, Mia Hughins, Calista Lambert, Aaliyah Lawson, Kolton Myers, Christopher Otts, Axel Puebla, Anna Reaugh, McKenly Roberts, Madison Stanley, Hannah Valdez and Owen Woodward

Jonas Arellano, Nathaniel Barrera, Shaden Bills, Emily Brannon, Jewell Graves, Thomas Hamilton, Nayeli Hernandez, Rosalba Marentes, Alias Maya, Evan Moore, Alexis Navarro, Hannah Pennartz, Ashley Reyes, Riegen Robertson, Henry Satterwhite, Melissa Tvrdik, Landree Wade and Kayla Wood

McKell Adams, Delaney Bailey, Savanah Fade, Alexander Fuson, Sydney Garland, Jaylen Harper, Henry Johnson, Peyton McPhail, Royce McPhail, Nora Ramirez, Anna Rogers, Rylan Sims, Laney Thibodeaux, Liberty Vandergriff, Jeremy Weaver, Elizabeth Woodward and Abigail Wylie


The state competitors for the 2018-19 academic year include:

C-X Debate
Travis Armstrong and Kaitlyn Crook

Track and Field
Braden Campbell – Pole Vault
Angel Ruiz – 400 meter Dash
Anna Reaugh – Pole Vault
Kylee Willis – High Jump

UIL Spirit State Competition
Angelina Ruiz, Laney Thibodeaux, Hailey Roberstson, Addison Dickerson, Lynsi Hinson, Yvette Galan, Tori Rose, Lilly Woodward, Sam Smalley, Savanna Hinton, Savanah Fade, Shalyn Owen, Mariah Baladez, Kylee Willis, Chasity Fraley, Layni Hinson, Angel Ruiz, Diego Arellano and Nayeli Hernandez

Environment and Natural Resources
Griffin Flournoy, Landre Wade, Zachary Smith and Christopher Otts

Special Olympics
Jesus Arellano, Rachel Craft and Roxana DeLaCruz

More than 100 scholarships were awarded at the Breckenridge High School Scholarship and Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 16. Additionally, about 60 students were presented with the Buckaroo Award for Academic Excellence. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/ Breckenridge Texan)

Cutline, top photo: Breckenridge High School’s 2019 Valedictorian receives the Valedictorian Scholarship from Luke Grider with Breckenridge InterBank at Thursday’s ceremony. (Photo by Tony Pilkington/Breckenridge Texan)



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support The Breckenridge Texan


Title of the document Sign up for our
Click Here
Verified by MonsterInsights